Driving Safety Course
Holders of a commercial motor vehicle driver’s license are not eligible for a driving safety course or deferred disposition.
If you meet the requirements, you may request that (one) offense be dismissed by taking a driving safety course:
- You must provide written notice to the court of your request on or before your appearance date. (You cannot have a speeding citation dismissed if it is a violation of 25 miles per hour or more above the posted limit or in a construction zone when workers are present.)
- You are ineligible if you have used this option within one year immediately preceding the date of the citation.
- You must have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit.You must show proof of financial responsibility as required by section 1a, Texas motor vehicle safety-responsibility act.
If you wish to request this option to have an offense dismissed, read and complete the Request Form (PDF) and return it to the court (if by mail send request certified mail) with required $129 court costs and proof of insurance on or before your appearance date. If you were cited in a school zone, $154 is required.
Effective January 1, 2020, the required fee is $144 and $169 if cited in a school zone. Citations issued 1/1/2020 and after require the new fees. If you wish to request this option to have an offense dismissed, read and complete the Request Form (PDF) and return it to the court (if by mail send request certified mail).
You have 90 days from the date of the request to complete an approved driving safety course and to provide the court with required documentation showing successful completion of the driving safety course and a certified copy of your driving record. You will not receive any further correspondence from the court. If you meet the eligibility requirements as stated on the Driving Safety Course Request Form, then you are responsible for completing the course and remitting the proper completion certificate to the court.