DRIVING SAFETY COURSE
Holders of a commercial motor vehicle driver’s license are not eligible for DSC or deferral.
If you meet the following requirements, you may request that (one) offense be dismissed by taking a driving safety course:
- You must provide written notice to the court of your request on or before your appearance date. (You cannot have a speeding citation dismissed if it is a violation of 25 MPH or more above the posted limit or in a construction zone when workers are present.)
- You are ineligible if you have used this option within one year immediately preceding the date of the citation.
- You must have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit.You must show proof of financial responsibility as required by section 1a, Texas motor vehicle safety-responsibility act.
If you wish to request this option to have an offense dismissed, read and complete the Request Form and return it to the court (if by mail send request certified mail) with required $109 fee and proof of insurance on or before your appearance date. If you were cited in a school zone, $134 is required.
You have 90 days from the date of request to complete an approved driving safety course and to provide the court with required documentation showing successful completion of the driving safety course and a certified copy of your Driving Record. You will not receive any further correspondence from the court. If you meet the eligibility requirements as stated on the D.S.C. request form then you are responsible for completing the course and remitting the proper completion certificate to the court.